The Kansas law requires people convicted of DUI to install ignition interlock devices on their vehicle. The device is supposed to act as a commitment to sobriety for drivers. The time penalty you keep the device depends on the weight of the offense and, the alcohol content in your blood.
The standard DUI, for instance, may need you to have an ignition interlock device for about 12 months.
Then, a super extreme DUI will need 18 months or more. The devices are meant to discourage drunk driving, and the drivers must blow into it before they can ignite the car. So, how many times can you fail this test question mark and what are the consequences of failing the test or meddling with the device?
America is fast growing into a zero-tolerance country, especially for people who drive under the influence of alcohol. People get charged for driving while drunk in Kansas, and that’s why they get a penalty to install interlocking devices.
When the sentence is put on you, you have to install the device within 30 days failure to which you could have your license suspended. And, sometimes it could attract the use of the ignition interlock device for longer than what’s required.
Of course, there could be some level of alcohol in your blood. So, the law requires that you can only drive a car if you have a BAC of less than 0.08on.
So, to ignite your car, you have to blow into the device, and in case it detects that you have more than 0.08 of blood alcohol content, then it will not start. And, if you have more than two occurrences within six months, then this could lead to a further penalty.
When you blow more than 0.08 into the ignition device at least three times, the system sends data to the Department of Transportation. This automatically indicates that you’re trying to drive a car while drunk. So time is extended on your penalty. So, to avoid any of these penalties, you need to remain compliant with the law and only drive when sober.
Periodically, the interlocking device will send data to the department responsible for transportation and traffic law. And, if there is a trend in the report that indicates your failure to follow the law and requirements then you are ignition interlock device data will show that you may need to have your license confiscated.
Basically, failure to comply means you have blown more than 0.08 into the device. Or, you could have tried to meddle or tamper with the interlocking device.
Another cause of failure of complying with the law could include trying to circumvent the requirements such as trying to get someone else to blow the device for you.
Kansas takes the interlocking ignition device programs seriously. If you don’t comply, you could end up attracting harsh penalties, including those that touch on your driving privileges. Of course, you don’t want to be labeled a drunk driver because that’s exactly what having the device installed on your car means.
The government uses sophisticated technology to make sure that drivers comply with the law. On a personal level, you must keep away from drunk driving. Even if you only have a little to drink, it’s nice to forfeit it altogether.
The risks involved are too high, and your family needs you. When you observe the rules of the program, you are going to be putting yourself on a path of recovery and long life. Always remember that failing your ignition interlock device test has lots of severe consequences.
Leave a Reply